Elect-A-Vote

Vote signMy husband and I often debate the relative (de)merits of the British and American political systems. I’ve already discussed how great it is that British elections are only 4 weeks long; the U.S. should adopt this immediately!

With the House changing hands in the last election (at least the real estate market is improving), we have a new leader – or at least we would if we were in the U.K. Boehner is basically equivalent to the British Prime Minister.

United States Capitol Building
House Prices Keep Going Up

Quick quiz – can you name the current Prime Minister of U.K.?

It strikes me as odd that only a couple of thousand Brits actually vote for the Prime Minister. In the current case, only 33, 973. He is then hoisted onto the shoulders of his fellow ministers and made Prime (Hurray! Huzzah! Hip Hip! and all that).

This is basically what happens in Congress as well. A bunch of folks in no-where Ohio voted for the U.S. version of the Prime Minister. (Though to be fair, winning an unopposed election isn’t really that difficult – seriously DNC, you didn’t even run a democrat against Boehner in the last election?! It’s not like Boehner even represents any important part of Ohio. )

I guess I skipped over Harry Reid, but yawn – it’s a moot point now anyway.

At least in the U.S. we all get to vote on the President. I say this and my husband laughs, pointing at the Electoral College – the joke’s on me.

His mocking spurs me to defend our forefathers who in their wisdom created this esteemed center for political congress. (Sounds a bit like a real university when I put it like that.) For the 100th time, I explain the importance of individual states in this great nation of ours. Each state gets to decide how to cast votes for the President. We could have proportional representation if all states got on board – not just Maine and Nebraska (it’s not like it even matters in Nebraska) – but the fix is in.

I defend our Constitution vigorously, but have to secretly admit that my husband has a point. When I cast my vote for president, I don’t think about the layer of democracy that separates my vote from the office.

It is possible under the U.S. system to lose the vote and win the election. Bush Junior did it. I guess we know how many votes each member of the Supreme Court gets – 60,433. (Hurray! Huzzah! Hip Hip! and all that).

In reality, I don’t really know who I’m voting for when I tick the presidential box – some nameless, faceless Elector who pledges to consider my vote when deciding who should be President. My vote is just a suggestion really.

Electoral-College
Elect an Elector. Thanks Takepart http://bit.ly/1Ar0aoh

The Electoral College is based on trust and I don’t have that much trust in the current political system. It’s just a matter of time before the Electors go on strike or stage a coup.

If we all stayed home for the next election, the Electoral College would still elect a president.

It’s beginning to sound like my vote really doesn’t matter.

I’m Jae and if you “like” this message, you’re really “liking” a different message that maybe will “like” this message…but maybe not.

4 thoughts on “Elect-A-Vote

    1. It’s the “benevolent” that gets you out of trouble. I think in the States it would be “malevolent” so it’s probably good that Congress isn’t in charge.

      BTW – was your photo taken in Greece?

      Liked by 1 person

Comment

